CISSP course round-up

Best SANS Institute alternatives for CISSP prep in 2026

9 ways to prepare for the Certified Information Systems Security Professional exam if SANS Institute is not giving you what you need — ranked by what each one is genuinely good at.

9 options reviewed 9 criteria Updated 15 September 2026

The short answer

The right SANS Institute alternative for CISSP depends on what you are missing. Edureify is the strongest choice if you want a diagnostic, an adaptive plan and a predicted ready-by date rather than another library of lessons. Udemy, InfosecTrain, Coursera, Simplilearn, Cybrary, Learning Tree, Global Knowledge and Training Camp are worth weighing up depending on budget and format.

Exam CISSP — Certified Information Systems Security Professional Options reviewed 9 SANS Institute $7,000+ Edureify $49–$599 Updated 15 September 2026


Why CISSP candidates look past SANS Institute

SANS Institute is best known for technically rigorous, premium-priced security training and its GIAC certifications, and its CISSP-aligned course reflects that reputation. It's a strong option for candidates who want SANS's depth and are less price-sensitive, but the cost puts it well above most other CISSP training options on this list.

SANS's core strength is depth on the technical side of security, which is somewhat different from what the CISSP actually rewards. The exam leans heavily on management-level judgment across all eight domains — including ones like law, governance, and business continuity that aren't primarily technical — so SANS's specialization doesn't map onto the CISSP blueprint as directly as it does onto its own GIAC exams.

SANS's technical depth is real, but depth isn't quite what the CISSP exam measures — it tests judgment spread evenly across eight domains, including non-technical ones like law and governance that SANS's specialization doesn't emphasize. Edureify's Readiness Score is scored specifically against that eight-domain blueprint, so it surfaces exactly where a technically strong candidate might still be under-prepared on the management-facing side of the exam.

What SANS Institute leaves you to work out on your own.
Gap SANS Institute Edureify
Predictive Readiness Score Not included Included
Adaptive daily roadmap Not included Included
Practice question app Varies Included
1:1 AI tutor (persistent session memory) Not included Included
Price accessibility Not included Included

9 SANS Institute alternatives worth considering

Best overall for CISSP readiness

Edureify

If your goal is passing the CISSP exam at a price an individual candidate can reasonably justify, Edureify's focused MasterClass is the more direct route.

  • Predictive Readiness Score
  • Adaptive daily roadmap
  • Practice question app
  • 1:1 AI tutor (persistent session memory)
$49–$599 Diagnostic Adaptive roadmap Practice loop Readiness prediction

Udemy

Best for: Low upfront cost

Udemy's appeal for CISSP prep is straightforward: individual instructors publish self-paced video courses at prices that are a fraction of most competitors, often discounted further during sales. For a broad, judgment-heavy exam like the CISSP, though, the trade-off is that you're relying on one instructor's take on the material with no built-in mentoring, structured schedule, or practice ecosystem beyond what that specific course happens to include.

$15–$130 Lifetime access to purchased course
Compare Edureify with Udemy

InfosecTrain

Best for: Real-time instructor interaction

InfosecTrain offers live, instructor-led CISSP training on fixed weekday or weekend schedules, plus in-person classroom sessions in India. That format suits candidates who want a set routine and real-time interaction with an instructor, but it also means committing to specific dates rather than studying around your own schedule.

$749 Career guidance
Compare Edureify with InfosecTrain

Coursera

Best for: Bundled with other learning

Coursera hosts CISSP-adjacent content from universities and training partners, usually bundled into its monthly subscription. That's convenient if you already use Coursera for other learning, but CISSP-specific courses on the platform tend to be general security overviews rather than a dedicated, exam-mapped prep program.

~$59/month or ~$399/year Certificates of completion
Compare Edureify with Coursera

Simplilearn

Best for: Structured bootcamp cadence

Simplilearn's CISSP program blends self-paced video with live, cohort-based sessions on a set calendar, similar to a bootcamp. That structure can help candidates who want external accountability, but it also means keeping pace with a cohort rather than moving faster or slower based on your own progress.

~$1,000–$1,500 Live mentoring sessions Practice question bank Exam pass guarantee / retake policy
Compare Edureify with Simplilearn

Cybrary

Best for: Broad catalog access

Cybrary is a subscription platform covering a wide range of cybersecurity topics, with CISSP prep as one course among many in the catalog. That breadth is useful if you want ongoing access to other security content, but candidates focused specifically on the CISSP exam often find the course lighter on structured practice and mentoring than a dedicated program.

~$59/month or ~$599/year Access to other security courses
Compare Edureify with Cybrary

Learning Tree

Best for: Live instructor delivery

Learning Tree runs scheduled, instructor-led CISSP courses aimed largely at corporate training budgets, delivered live online or in person over several consecutive days. That format suits teams booking training as a group, but it's a heavier commitment for an individual candidate studying on their own time and budget.

~$3,000+ Designed for corporate group bookings
Compare Edureify with Learning Tree

Global Knowledge

Best for: Worldwide delivery

Global Knowledge is an enterprise IT training provider offering scheduled, instructor-led CISSP courses worldwide, generally aimed at organizations investing in staff certification. Individual candidates can enroll, but the format and pricing reflect an enterprise training model rather than a self-paced consumer product.

~$3,000+ Global delivery locations
Compare Edureify with Global Knowledge

Training Camp

Best for: Fast turnaround

Training Camp runs immersive, in-person CISSP boot camps that compress exam prep into a handful of consecutive days, often with the exam scheduled immediately after. That intensity works for some candidates but assumes you can absorb the full breadth of the CISSP domains in a very short window, with limited time for the material to settle before test day.

~$3,500+ Exam scheduled as part of the program
Compare Edureify with Training Camp

Every option on the same criteria

The same 9 checks applied to each provider. Where a provider does not publish a clear answer, the cell says so rather than guessing.

CISSP preparation options compared across 9 criteria.
Criterion SANS Institute What you have now Edureify Udemy InfosecTrain Coursera Simplilearn Cybrary Learning Tree Global Knowledge Training Camp
Course structure Paid, premium technical depth Paid, exam-focused Paid, instructor-dependent Fixed-schedule live + in-person Subscription, general security content Paid, blended cohort Subscription library Fixed-schedule, instructor-led Fixed-schedule, instructor-led Paid, intensive multi-day in-person
Predictive Readiness Score Not included Included Not included Not included Not included Not included Not included Not included Not included Not included
Adaptive daily roadmap Not included Included Not included Not included Not included Not included Not included Not included Not included Not included
Practice question app Varies Included Not stated Not included Not stated Not stated Not stated Not included Not included Varies
1:1 AI tutor (persistent session memory) Not included Included Not included Not included Not included Not included Not included Not included Not included Varies
All study materials included Not stated Included Varies Not included Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
Flashcard app Not stated Included Not included Not included Not stated Not included Not stated Not stated Not stated Not stated
Practice question bank Not stated Included Varies Not stated Varies Included Varies Not stated Not stated Not stated
Community support Not stated Included Not included Varies Not stated Not stated Varies Not stated Not stated Not stated

Scroll the table sideways to see every provider.

Not sure which gap is costing you the most time? Start with a diagnostic.

Take the CISSP readiness test

How we compared these

Every option here is judged on the same question: how much of the work of getting exam-ready does it do for you, and how much is left to you?

  1. Published course pages, syllabuses and pricing were read directly from each provider.
  2. Criteria were fixed before the providers were scored, so no provider sets its own test.
  3. Where a provider varies by instructor or plan, the cell reads “Varies” rather than a yes or no.
  4. Where nothing is published, the cell reads “Not stated” — an absence of evidence, not a failure.
  5. Prices are list prices at the time of writing and exclude the ISC2 exam fee itself.

Questions about switching

What is the best SANS Institute alternative for CISSP prep?

Edureify is the strongest alternative for candidates who want to know where they stand, because it runs a diagnostic first and keeps a live readiness score with a predicted ready-by date. If your priority is the lowest possible price rather than readiness tracking, the other options on this page may suit you better.

How much do CISSP courses cost?

Across the options compared here, SANS Institute is typically $7,000+ and Edureify is $49–$599. Prices move with promotions and bundle contents, so check each provider before buying.

Can I switch to another CISSP course part-way through studying?

Yes. Most candidates who switch start with a diagnostic on the new platform so their remaining study time is spent on actual gaps rather than repeating material they have already covered.

Why is SANS so much more expensive than other CISSP options?

SANS pricing reflects its premium instructor talent and technical depth, and is generally aimed at organizations funding staff training rather than self-funded individual candidates.

Is SANS's extra depth necessary just to pass the CISSP?

Not typically — the CISSP exam tests breadth across eight domains at a management-aware level, so a dedicated CISSP-mapped course can prepare you without SANS's specialized technical depth.

If you only change one thing

Swapping one library of CISSP lessons for another rarely changes the outcome. What changes it is knowing which domain is actually holding you back, and how long it will take to close that gap.

Start with a diagnostic, then decide what to buy. A 20-minute baseline test will tell you more about your CISSP readiness than another month of watching lectures.

Take the readiness test

Compare these one to one